Eta Sigma Phi is the National Honor Society for Classics, with an active chapter, Beta Iota, here at Wake Forest. Mary Pendergraft has served on the Board of Trustees since 2012 and is the chapter adviser at Wake Forest University.  Greek, Latin, and/or Classical Studies majors and minors who qualify are inducted into this organization annually, and the group elects its own officers. The National organization offers scholarships for undergraduates to travel in Athens, Rome, or Campania during the summer, and for Latin teacher training. 

Wake Forest hosted the 2013 Eta Sigma Phi National Convention, celebrating the society’s 99th year.

Wake Forest’s Eta Sigma Phi members have attended and read papers at the annual Eta Sigma Phi National Convention, where they have also held offices and won awards.

Current Officers for the Beta Iota Chapter, 2021-2022 Year:

  • President — Jordan Houston
  • Vice President — Renate Ma
  • Secretary — Caleb Sawyer
  • Treasurer — Zoe Clay